Standard Measuring Spoon Sizes Explained

Sharing is caring!

Last Updated on May 2, 2022 by Share My Kitchen

You might have asked yourself this question if you are a perfectionist:

In how many sizes can you find standard measuring spoons?

This post will provide an in-depth answer to your question about the standard set of measuring spoons. Let’s begin.

These are the 4 sizes of standard measuring spoons:

  • 1 Tablespoon
  • 1 Teaspoon
  • 1/2 Teaspoon
  • 1/4 Teaspoon

Continue reading if you’d like to learn more.

Sizes of Standard Measuring Spoons

They are available in four sizes:

1 Tablespoon

The tablespoon is used for both serving and eating. Its most common color is silver, but it can also be found in other common colors such as black or golden.

However, colors of the spoon may vary depending on the table spoon being used. The measuring spoons are available in many colors (including pink, orange, and pink), than the ones we use to eat.

A standard measuring spoon is indispensable and can be used all the time to measure dry spices, milk powders, etc. So it is quite common, and it comes with the baby powder tin.

1 Teaspoon

If you don’t know the measurement, 3 teaspoons equals 1 tablespoon. Therefore, the teaspoon is three times smaller than the tablespoon.

Any kind of tea is commonly served with a teaspoon. It is normally a tool used to add sugar to tea or coffee.

The majority of standard tea spoons are made from plastic, but it is recommended that you use stainless steel ones.

There are various problems with using plastic ones: they can be easily melted when heated. You also need to make sure they are free from BPA. So use high-quality stainless steel standard measuring spoons instead. This is a worthwhile investment that you will only make once.

1/2 Teaspoon

Teaspoons are small and most often used to stir the tea or coffee. The other standard size spoon is 1/2 teaspoon.

It is usually found in a set. Although, you can get a single teaspoon if you search for it specifically. It’s a good idea, however, to buy a complete set of spoons so that you have a set that is identical.

These 4 standard measuring spoons will be a great help if you are just starting to cook or if you want to learn more about cooking.

1/4 Teaspoon

This teaspoon is used to measure dry or solid spices that are added to recipes in very small quantities. Plus, this is the last spoon in the regular measuring set. However, 1/8 teaspoon, which is not a standard, is also available. You’ll find it in every set.

People often ask what is used to level dry ingredients, here’s the answer:

Measurement spoons.

Does a Chef Need All 4 Spoons?

Yes! They are standard measuring spoons for a reason. These are designed for chefs and all things food related.

These measuring spoons are essential for chefs when they’re in the kitchen preparing food. They use these spoons to remember the quantity of spices they need. So it can be very difficult and challenging to prepare food correctly without them.

They can’t also live without measuring cups, and more specifically those with handles.

There are large measuring cups usually used for making soup at restaurants as well.

Liquid Measuring

The same set of standard spoons is also useful in liquid measurement. They also give precise measurements for milliliter, deciliter, etc.

Sometimes, it is also called “tsp cooking”, which means perfection.

Example: 15ml in teaspoons = 3.04326 (US teaspoon)

Divide the ml number with 4.929 to get the formula.

Cooking is a process that involves a lot of weight. That’s why it’s important to measure accurately.


You now know that standard measuring spoons are available in 4 sizes. So, get a complete set and begin working with them.

Standard measuring spoons for the kitchen are great utensils since the need to create perfect food is constant. These spoons are simple yet effective to provide chefs the help to make more consistent delicious and perfect meals.

Sharing is caring!